April 3, 2021
step by step

Chile’s Health Authorities announce restrictions on travel abroad and changes in essential activities

Chile’s Health Authorities announce restrictions on travel abroad and changes in essential activities
As of Monday, April 5, curfew will be brought forward to 9pm and individual travel permits will be limited to two per week for municipalities in Steps 1 (Quarantine) and 2 (Transition).
Restriction on trips abroad

The authorities have announced that flights abroad will be restricted for 30 days, both for Chilean citizens and foreign residents. People will only be granted extraordinary authorization if there are urgent reasons of a humanitarian nature, for health treatment or essential tasks that are deemed of sufficient importance for them to leave the country. In such cases, the authorization can be requested via the police force’s online website comisaria virtual.

Entry to Chile by non-resident foreigners will be prohibited for 30 days, with the exception of those who have due authorization from the Chilean consulate in their country of origin on the basis of justified health criteria issued by the health authorities, provided this is in the general interests of Chile.

Meanwhile, truck drivers entering Chile via land borders must show a negative PCR test result with a maximum of 72 hours.  Furthermore, health personnel will carry out random antigen testing on drivers entering the country. If any of them tests positive for the coronavirus, they will go into a healthcare residence and the transport company will need to take responsibility for the operation of the cargo and the truck.

Changes in travel and essential activities

Crime Prevention Undersecretary Katherine Martorell announced a series of changes to the activities and permits currently in place, which will go into effect starting Monday, April 5 at 5am:

Individual travel permits will be restricted.   For municipalities in Step 1 (Quarantine) and Step 2 (Transition), only two permits will be allowed per person per week and only one of them can be used on the weekends and public holidays.

A maximum of five people will be able to attend religious activities in municipalities in Quarantine.

To obtain a Collective Permit (Permiso Único Colectivo, PUC), the company must report the total of employees, the number of essential workers who need the permit and the essential role performed by each of those workers.

To this effect, an essential activity is defined as one that cannot be carried out remotely and which is considered essential.  Therefore, administrative, accounting, financial, advisory and consulting roles are excluded.  This applies to both public and private sector employees.

In addition, activities related to retail sales of clothing and accessories, footwear in specialized stores and perfumes, toiletries and cosmetics wholesale will be temporarily eliminated from those regarded as essential business categories.   This measure will be in effect for 15 days and its extension will then be evaluated.

The definition of essential goods for domestic use will be restricted to goods and services intended to be used by people in their home, in municipalities in Step 1 (Quarantine) and Step 2 (Transition) of the Plan Paso a Paso (step-by-step plan) and that are considered essential for subsistence (food, medications, cleaning supplies and personal hygiene items), teleworking, distance education and home maintenance and security.

The type of products that can be sold in supermarkets located in municipalities in Quarantine and Transition will also be restricted to those products included in the new definition of essential goods and services for domestic use (including supermarkets).

In addition, businesses must require any person wanting to enter their place of business to show their individual travel permit or Collective Permit for essential wholesalers.

Meanwhile, the health cordons were put in place at the earlier time of 1pm this Thursday, April 1 for the following areas: the Metropolitan Region, Valparaíso, the urban zone of Greater Concepción and the municipalities of Temuco and Padres Las Casas in the Araucanía Region. They will remain in place until 10pm on Sunday, April 4.

Plan Paso a Paso Measures

Public Health Undersecretary Paula Daza announced the following modifications to the Plan Paso a Paso:

– From Saturday, April 3 at 5am:

The following municipalities will move back to Transition: Marchihue (O’Higgins Region) and Portezuelo (Ñuble Region).

The following will move back to Quarantine: Paihuano (Coquimbo Region); Papudo, Catemu, Santo Domingo, Quintero (Valparaíso Region); Codegua (O’Higgins Region); Río Claro, Pelarco, Romeral, Cauquenes, Hualañé, Constitución and Longaví (Maule Region); Cobquecura (Ñuble Region); Nacimiento (Biobío Region); Nueva Imperial (Araucanía Region); and Cochamó, Chonchi and Dalcague (Los Lagos Region).

– From Monday, April 5 at 5 am:

The following municipalities will move into Transition: Pica (Tarapacá Region); Tirúa and Contulmo (Biobío Region).

The following will move into Preparation: Licantén (Maule Region).

Undersecretary Daza also announced that as of Monday, April 5, curfew will be brought forward to 9pm and the Elige Vivir Sano (Choose to Live Healthily) schedule will be extended from 6am to 9am.